Home > Uncategorized > I know, I’m not keeping up on my posting…

I know, I’m not keeping up on my posting…

As I was reminded today, another Monday has gone by and I haven’t posted anything.  It has been a bit hectic around here this past several days.  Spring break for my daughter, me being sick, then my wife and daughter coming down with this.  Not to mention Passover and Easter, neither of which I really celebrate but they’re both great reasons for eating special meals.  Tell me, who doesn’t love a good Seder then a few days later a ham dinner?

So to make up for my lack of diligence…

A quick recipe…

Something I’ve been serving my family all week…

Strawberries with honey, ginger, absinthe dressing

1 quart of strawberries stemmed and cut up

1 inch piece of fresh ginger grated

3 tbsp honey

2 tbsp Mata Hari Absinthe

Toss all ingredients in a bowl to coat the strawberries.  Serve as a light fruit side dish, on a green leafy salad, or rolled in a crepe.

Bonus time…

Mata Hari Absinthe.  Why use a specific brand?  Why not just specify absinthe?  There are several formulae for absinthe depending on who makes it.  Each distiller has their own herb bill for their brand.  The French distiller who makes La Fee for instance uses more star anise and sweetens the final product, making it a sweeter more licorice flavored.  I call La Fee picnic absinthe because you don’t have to bring sugar and an absinthe spoon with you.  You can just add a splash of cold water to the glass.  Mata Hari on the other hand has a much higher mint content, giving it a very distinct minty flavor which works well with fruits and honey.

One of my favorite absinthes though is the local Milwaukee made Amerique 1912 from Great Lakes Brewing and Distillery.  A very classic absinthe with a well balanced wormwood, anise, mint herbal bill.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sue Madden
    April 28, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Good job

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

