Home > Uncategorized > I have a new toy

I have a new toy

Something I have always wanted, but had a hard time finding.  Then a few weeks ago when we took our daughter to a friend’s birthday party at Build-a-Bear, my wife and I went shopping.  Since we were in the mall anyway, I dropped into Williams Sonoma.

There I saw it.

The long time piece of missing equipment.

A real honest to goodness crepe pan.

I’ve made a few batches of crepes, but today’s breakfast of strawberry filled crepes was so good even my picky daughter even cleaned her plate.  Heck, even the dog loved them.  I’ve made crepes in a small shallow sided omelet pan before, but they never came out quite right.  I have to say, that the right pan makes a vast difference.

So, I’ve been making crepes.  My latest creation…

Strawberry filled crepes with honey balsamic strawberry cream

1 pint of strawberries sliced

1/4 cup honey

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/2 pint of sour cream

6 crepes

Set aside 6  large strawberries for filling the crepes.  Put remaining sliced strawberries into a pan with the vinegar and half of the honey.  Bring to a boil then simmer for a few minutes to make a thin syrup.  Remove from heat and chill.  If you don’t have the crepes on hand, make them.  When the syrup is cooled, blend half the syrup with the sour cream and remaining honey.  Spread some  of the cream on a crepe and place some sliced strawberries on it.  Roll up.  Serve 2 crepes per person.  Pour remaining syrup on top and drizzle with some of the remaining cream.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 14, 2011 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

