Home > Uncategorized > Mad Food Skills for Non-Food Uses…

Mad Food Skills for Non-Food Uses…

My daughter asked if I knew how to age. I had to think about that. I’m not sure I’m doing it right as it is, so how could I answer that?

She kindly clarified the question for me by telling me that it was for her Social Studies assignment. She needed some paper that would look like it was from colonial America.

Ok, that I do know how to do. Tea stain. Cinnamon texturing. Heat caramelizing. Then fountain pen for writing on it. Singe the edges and corners. Blur the ink. Its really a simple but involved process.

My formula is: 2 quarts of water. Handful of tea leaves. Tablespoon of cinnamon. Half cup of sugar. Combine all ingredients, pour into a roasting pan over two burners and bring to a boil. Add the paper and boil until the paper starts to brown. Remove from the water and drop onto a hot griddle or into a big cast iron frying pan. Fry until dry. If it needs more, return to the water and boil some more. Go back and forth from the tea to the frying pan until you get the color and patterns you want.

This is what I ended up with.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

